Tennis superstar Novak Djokovic had a chance to make history at this year’s U.S. Open … but he squandered it away after hitting a judge with a ball out of frustration.
Djokovic was defaulted (disqualified) from the rest of the tournament Sunday in the middle of his fourth-round match against Pablo Carreno Busta — who was up 6-5 in the first set and had just scored a point — when ND angrily and haphazardly smacked a ball that hit a lineswoman.
It doesn’t appear he tried to hit her, but the fact he struck her (in the neck, no less) and got her removed from the action was enough for him to get booted. You see him immediately run over to check on her, but the damage was done.
Once he was instructed he couldn’t play anymore, he quickly grabbed his things and exited the court … not before giving some handshakes to his opponent and the main judge